Avocado Tzatziki

Hey everyone. Made a dish last night using one of my favorite sauces. I made Lamb and Tzatziki Flatbread and Wraps. But before I posted that, I figured it made more sense to do a blog post just for the sauce because it can be used for all kinds of things. We use it as veggie dip and salad dressing. I will say that I can’t take credit for the idea of combining avocado and tzatziki. It was one of those things I stumbled upon when I was looking at other stuff. That being said, I am not sure if the measurements in other recipes are the same as mine, or even if all of the ingredients are the same. I just like the idea of adding the good fat in avocados, plus it thickens up sauce a bit. I used a food processor to make mine, but you can do it without one. In the featured image I put all of the ingredients, but I did make a few tweaks after the fact, and I will note those below.

Avocado Tzatziki (Prep Time: 20 minutes plus a 1 hour in the refrigerator)

Ingredients:

(The picture shows the amounts with the noted exceptions)

32 oz Greek Yogurt

1-2 Avocado

1 Large Lemon

1/2 cup chopped fresh Dill (pic shows about 1/4 cup)

1 English Cucumber

1 tbsp minced Garlic

Salt and Pepper to taste (added more)

Directions:

Really the only thing that can really be messed up is the consistency of the sauce. Since I am just using plain Greek yogurt, and not making it authentically, it can become even more runny. To avoid this, you need to take proper care of the cucumber.

The first thing you want to do is peel and seed the cucumber. To seed it, I cut it in half, then in half the long way. I then use a spoon to scrape out the center.

20160526_180628

After that, dice it and place it on some paper towel, and salt it. This will draw the water out of it. Let it sit and prepare the other ingredients. (Note: If you are not using a food processor, you can shred the cucumber using a cheese grater.)

When that is done you can put your yogurt into your bowl or food processor.

Next you want to chop your dill. Get rid of the ticker stems and only use the finer leaves. I started with the amount you see in the picture, but ended up nearly doubling that after I tasted it.

Next, get your lemon ready. I used the zest of about 1/2 of a large lemon and the juice of one large lemon.

Time for the avocado. Peal it and take the pit out. You can either dice it or just break it apart. I used one, but I think two avocados would be better, so I will do that next time.

Finally, add your minced garlic, salt, and pepper. Like with the dill, I added more salt after tasting it. I about doubled what you see in the picture.

At this point pat down the cucumber with paper towels and add to your mixture.

Either hit start on the food processor or mix together very well. There isn’t really a point in tasting it now, as the flavor will change as it sits in the fridge. Let it sit for at least an hour (I prepared my other food during this time) and then taste it. If you think it needs more of something, go ahead and add it!

20160526_195235

You can now use it for whatever you choose. I used some on my flatbread and my wraps. After using the amount I needed for the meal, it fit right back into the original yogurt container. Enjoy!

 

Author: kevines255

I am a stay-at-home dad trying to live as healthy as possible. In addition to preparing healthy food for my family, I work as a cook in a hospital (LTACH.) I have been in the food service industry in many different capacities for over 10 years. I have also worked in the fitness industry as a personal trainer and on the business side of things. I did major in History and Religious Studies at the University of Minnesota, but that is irrelevant to what I will be blogging about, for the most part. My blog will be talking about Food, Nutrition, Cooking, Fitness, Health, and Wellness, as well as my personal Fitness and Wellness Journal. You can find a link to my blog below.

4 thoughts on “Avocado Tzatziki”

  1. Pingback: Just an Opinion

Leave a comment